CureZone   Log On   Join
Re: Hi Doc, sore knee stuff

Heart Worms?
Hulda Clark Cleanses

Free Natural Teeth Restoration!
The Powder that heals, protects, remineralizes

Natural Cancer Remedies
You can treat cancer more successfully than most doctors!

More
More
knows Views: 1,622
Published: 13 years ago

This is a reply to # 1,163,078

Re: Hi Doc, sore knee stuff

Knees, Ouch!!! One of the more painful things you can have wrong with you.

I've been doing chiropractic for 32 years now and I see an awful lot of people hurt themselves doing Yoga. Why??

They think they're still young. Unless you've been doing Yoga since youth do not attempt the advanced positions.

For the average person that just wants to stay in good shape I do NOT recommend Yoga. Nor do I recommend running or treadmill.

What I teach is don't stretch the spine at all. You can losen it up a bit as with warm-up exercises but don't stretch it. Unless you're an advanced student of Yoga or an athlete, don't stretch your spine. The risk of hurting yourself and ending up in my office outweigh the possible benefit derived.

That being said, there ARE things you can do to keep your spine mechanically correct and strong. The stretching exercise that goes a long, long way to stabilizing the lower back is the hamstring stretch before bed EVERYNIGHT. Once in bed roll over on your stomach and arch your back a couple of time, then go to sleep.

If you're in trouble with a slipped disc I teach the toe pull that puts a little intersegmental traction on the involved disc.

Any lower back twisting warm-up exercises should be done while leaning slightly back. With the neck have your chin elevated a bit.

DON'T TWIST THE LUMBAR SPINE WHILE LEANING FORWARD OR CERVICAL SPINE WITH THE CHIN DOWN.

Knee problems, if not caused by direct trauma to the knee proper come from two sources related to the spine.