CureZone   Log On   Join
Foods containing gluten from the American Diabetes Association website

Your Ad Here
Place your ad here !

  Views: 2,945
Published: 8 years ago

Foods containing gluten from the American Diabetes Association website

Gluten is found in wheat, rye, barley and any foods made with these grains.

Avoiding wheat can be especially hard because this means you should avoid all wheat-based flours and ingredients. These include:

White Flour
Whole Wheat Flour
Durum Wheat
Graham Flour
Wheat Germ
Wheat Bran

Common foods that are usually made with wheat include:

Flour Tortillas
Oats (see the section on oats below)

This may seem like a long list, but there are still plenty of gluten-free foods out there! Choose from many fresh, healthy foods like fruits, vegetables, beans, dairy, nuts and gluten-free grains like quinoa or rice. There are also gluten-free versions of many of the foods above available in most grocery stores. You just have to look for them!
Gluten Surprises

You may not expect it, but the following foods can also contain gluten:

broth in soups and bouillon cubes
breadcrumbs and croutons
some candies
fried foods
imitation fish
some lunch meats and hot dogs
modified food starch
seasoned chips and other seasoned snack foods
salad dressings
self-basting turkey
soy sauce
seasoned rice and pasta mixes

There are also many addititves and ingredients in packaged foods that may contain gluten. Always check labels and ingredient lists for these. For a more comprehensive list of gluten-containing additives, contact your local celiac support group.
A Few Other Points:

Don't forget that ingredients in food products change frequently, so always check the label before buying packaged foods.

Remember that "wheat-free" does not automatically mean "gluten-free." While a product may not contain wheat, it can still contain rye or barley in some form.

If you have any question about whether a food contains gluten, contact the manufacturer directly.
The Fuss About Oats

Oats are technically a gluten-free food but they are often contaminated with gluten during growing, harvesting or processing. In the past, many experts recommended completely avoiding oats in addition to wheat, rye and barley for those on a gluten-free diet. Now, some oats are grown and processed separately and are labeled "gluten-free."

Printer-friendly version of this page Email this message to a friend
Alert Moderators
Report Spam or bad message  Alert Moderators on This GOOD Message

This Forum message belongs to a larger discussion thread. See the complete thread below. You can reply to this message!


Donate to CureZone

CureZone Newsletter is distributed in partnership with

Contact Us - Advertise - Stats

Copyright 1999 - 2021

0.375 sec, (2)