CureZone   Log On   Join
Re: Hi Eileen, my name is Sara and I am glad to meet you.

Pineapple Views: 1,838
Published: 17 years ago

This is a reply to # 404,636

Re: Hi Eileen, my name is Sara and I am glad to meet you.

Hi . . . I'm new to this, so please bear with me. I've read the responses to your words and I hear your heart. Whether this is the correct place to voice opinions such as yours or not, or for me, I don't really know, but, I felt compeled to respond on this topic.

I was raised a Catholic and had such emotional and spiritual damage done to me as a child that when I started to search for answers as an adult, I resisted God at each turn in His pursuit of me. We are talking non-stop pursuit. I was talking to God alot in learning to live without alcohol and to live my life, but the "Christian" thing was not going to happen. Finally, from the never ceasing, constant turmoil of my mind, I cried out to God and said . . . "OK, OK, OK . . . if you want me to become a Christian, then you're going to have to find me a church that I can relate to cause there's nothing out there that can I relate to!" And God did. Within the week I had been invited to a church that eliminates the trappings of "church" (ie. pews, dress code, language, music, etc.)and delivered services for "seekers" of Christianity and spoke from their heart about who God is, who Jesus is, and what the Bible says, in a language that a hurting, seeking heart needs to hear. All without apoligizing for their faith or beliefs and without "watering" anything down . . . they just spoke in a language I could understand and they spoke it in love.